Well  it’s holiday season, so time to catch up with some technology. I’ve put my Panasonic GF1 through it’s paces in Hvar (Croatia). Very pleased with the results. Some 1300 images shot in RAW. No problem with storage today as  SD cards are cheap now. No longer a concern about the cost too. I usedd two Sandisk 16GB (10) type cards purchased from Mymemory.  Paranoid about losing any images, I swapped cards half way through the vacation i.e. to at least save half the images.  I bought the electronic viewfinder for the camera thinking that I would need in the bright sun . In truth (as a spectacle wearer) I still found it easier to use with the LCD turned up to full brightness. OK a few shots were less than perfect but 95%+ were fine and needed a few tweaks such as straightening…. Difficult at a level to see what I might purchase as a replacement camera at this point. Obvious contenders are the new Sony RX100 or the Panasonic GX1. The former gives me the pocket camera that I still hanker for. The latter possibly a slightly better image? The power zoom on the GX1 seem to have had mixed reviews though, so not so sure.

Have had a few small poster prints made from my current on line favourite Pixum. http://www.pixum.co.uk. Results seem pleasing to my eye, fast service and good rates for the mini poster prints.

Recently treated myself to a Galaxy Nexus 7 Tablet. Little to add so far , other than being very pleased . For me it’s just right, I can simply plug into my Windows PC and copy my photos… No eye anything needed 😉  Only niggle is that there’s no SD card slot. This would have been fantastic as a portable browser to view my holiday photographs. I wonder if there’s an app’ that works with the wifi SD cards that are available? Using K9-Mail for IMAP mail, Quick Pic for photo viewing. I used http://www.freemake.com/free_video_converter/ to convert videos from my GF1 to play on the Nexus 7.

I’ve also bought a Raspberry Pi , but had little time to play with. Perhaps in the next post?

