I’ve had this for a year or so but have never managed to achieve reliable reception. (Product details here: http://www.freecom.com/ecproduct_detail.asp?ID=2234 ). I sort of fell into to the trap of assuming that it might work with a tiny indoor aerial , as does my DAB tuner. But of course the transmission levels for digital TV i.e. Freeview are limited in power output until the switch over in 2012. Until that time you need a decent aerial. Any way these last few days I’ve had another go and bought myself a small DIY loft Aerial from Wilkinson’s. Although only small (about 2 foot in length) when fully assembled. It’s given me the edge over my small loop aerial. ( I found the small device supplied by Freecom to be totally ineffective here in my loft/office). I’ve placed the new aerial in the loft cupboard out of site and swung it round in the orientation of the roof Antenna, pointing to Crystal Palace. (Check out http://www.ukfree.tv/txdetail.php?a=TQ339712 ) . Success, although on the margin I’ve just enough signal now to successfully receive the ITV multiplex , the weaker of the DVB mux’s. All I’ve got to do now is wait for something decent to come on air 😉

(Take care, I’ve played with some of the small TV signal boosters such as those supplied by Argos. But unfortunately they would appear to introduce too much noise. You can’t beat a good signal from the antenna itself.)

The Freecom itself seems to behave itself admirably on my small Shuttle PC with 17 inch display running XP. The antenna adapter for the Coax connection appears a tiny bit flimsy but it all seems to work. Comes with a handy remote as well. Just take care with the signal quality.

