Just borrowed one of same and took a few pictures. I must say I was slightly disappointed with the initial results. With it’s digic III processor I was expecting great things. After all this is 2 years in advance of my old Ixus 500, plus it’s up to 7 Mega pixels, albeit with a reduced optical zoom range at only 2.4 times. Perhaps it’s a result of a smaller lens. Menu options seem similar to the old Ixus. However the features have been extended and include some basic scene modes like portrait, night time, landscape etc. The zoom control is also a little strange as it shares the navigation thumb wheel. Not for me I think in spite of it’s ‘twee’ size, the reason I tried it out 😉 So at a glance it’s not bad but not necessarily the best camera for the money, great perhaps if you want a small camera to go any where. Detailed review here:

http://www.digicamreview.com/canon_digital_ixus_i7_zoom_sd40_review.htm

