Another article in last months PC Pro on the subject. Basically we’re reminded that these photos are vulnerable living on spinning hard disks in our PC’s or MAC’s. We’re also reminded that writing to CD or DVD is not bullet proof by any means. At worst such copies might fail in as little as 2 or 3 years. The good news today is that magnetic disk storage is cheap and getting cheaper all the time. I copy all of my images to an external usb hard disk. (one could also use a NAS drive). I also mirror ‘my pictures’ folder to another PC on my home network. That way I’ve got three hard disk copies albeit in my home. Still I’m protected against a single machine failure. I use syncbak from 2brightsparks to perform the copying operation. I also keep the odd copy of important images off site with another family member.

