Well I put it through it’s paces earlier this month in Crete. What can I say other than it’s a first class performer. Only one or two shots failed to come out from over 400+ pictures. Colours may not be quiet as vivid as my old Canon Ixus 500 but on balance for a compact camera with 10X optical zoom , I think most people would be more than pleased. Small gripes:

– No optical viewfinder, but obviously known at point of purchase.

– It’s got a pretty small custom battery that’s fine but if you sit and review as I did one day things might get a little tight. I’d say always carry a spare battery to be sure.

– Fingers/thumb always seems to touch and engage the controls on the camera rear when composing.

– The main selector dial has a tendency to rotate when inserted/removed from its case (not Panasonic). To be fair other cameras annoyingly suffer from the same problem.

Now intrigued how does the TZ3 compare?

‘Chania Harbour – Crete’ View taken on the TZ1 – August 2007 Copyright Alan Ferdman (Click on image for full view)

Chania Harbour

